My 1st Avatar

Tammy

As a way of introducing myself to the Prep class I was working with during my recent Prac, I created my very own avatar using Voki. It was very exciting to go through the process of design and publishing the avatar. More exciting still was the excitement the kids showed watching it.

After the success of using an avatar for my personal introduction I decided to continue this theme throughout my teaching. I used the avatar to introduce each of my teaching sessions, informing the students of what subjects and activities were coming up.

This was a great system to engage the Prep students, tune them into the upcoming sessions and was a great way to “switch them on” to the fact that I was leading the class rather then their regular teacher. This helped with classroom management, the levels of respect shown to me as a pre-service teacher and really helped engage the students in the lessons.