Today’s inspiration

Image

As it is the holidays I was struggling to find a topic to write about. I wanted something related to my studies and meaningful. I came across Leesa’s blog post “A touching story”  and was taken aback. The story of the teacher who engaged with the student who had the worst reputation is truly inspirational. It was a perfect encapsulation of the philosophies that I am learning throughout my degree:

* That every child is unique.

* Each child should be given the time to show you who they are, what they represent and how they learn.

* We, as teachers, are there to bring out the best in our students. To do this, we MUST get to know our students and find out what makes them tick.

And most importantly, I feel:

* EVERY student has the potential to achieve great things, and only through working TOGETHER with them, can this be achieved.

We all have the potential to be great teachers, but I truly fee this only comes when we take the time to get to know our students, start each day anew and look upon each student as someone unique.

Not only do we teach them, but I honestly believe that our students can teach us, if we only take the time and show the respect to listen.

Leave a Reply

