“Using an e-reader in place of books is akin to looking at a place in a picture and living in it”

Technology is always a trade-off

Image

My example of technology trade-off is the e-book. I absolutely adore reading, and love the smell, touch and sound of reading a book. I swore I would never replace my actual books with a reading tablet for novels.

Alas, I was given a Kindle for my birthday last year and haven’t read a real book since! I love that it is self-lit so I can read in the dark, I can use the linked dictionary if I don’t understand a word (I never have had to, but I can if I want to!).

This week I decided to read my son’s newest novel in an attempt to get him excited in reading. His request? Could I restore an old device and download the digital version for him?

It would seem the act of touching and smelling a book, to become totally engrossed in the story is getting lost. Whilst I love the convenience of storing hundreds of books on one device, giving me the freedom to chop and change at my leisure, I am saddened that my children will not have the same tactile experience of reading that I grew up with.

This article (http://tinyurl.com/nmz4wdc) reiterates the benefits listed above, whilst also confirming the draw backs. Additionally, the writer includes negatives that I hadn’t considered. These include the need to have the battery charged in order to access your books and, what I consider to be an important fact, studies have shown that memory retention and focus are diminished when reading an electronic device.

As a current student and the mother of three young children in school, it is becoming clear to me that, whilst we must be competent users of electronic reading devices in order to be successful member of society, the practice of reading physical books should be instilled in our children, stressing the importance and ‘tradition’ of the process.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: “Using an e-reader in place of books is akin to looking at a place in a picture and living in it” | fionabudd2014
  2. kyliemedwards
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 09:42:01

    Reply

  3. kyliemedwards
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 09:46:28

    I laughed when I read your blog, I am still holding on tight to my books determined to not convert to a Kindle. Although I can appreciate the benefits I love my books. Unfortunately I’m sure that one day in the future there will be a Kindle next to me bed !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

